Pie

At the organ when I came

Playing on in your own house

“Who am I?” I’d ask you now

Quiet as a country mouse.

 

There were tables out of doors

And pies far bigger than my eyes

And oh so many all around

But still I wonder who am I?

 

It was cloudy when we came

And I was lost in turkey smell

And all those pies were everywhere

Touching deep inside the well.

 

Who am I without your love?

And who am I now you’re gone?

Who am I without your hand

And how am I to carry on?

 

People all around the food

Laughing talking, happy sighs

But lost alone in this dark world

I only ever see the pies.

 

Memories they tend to fade

But some seem set in stone

I pray that you are not in hell

And that I am not alone.

8 thoughts on “Pie

What are you thinking?

