How Many Times?

How many times the floor must I feel
With blood and teeth and pain?
And how many times must I hear my own voice
Betray my very soul?

And all of the things that a man will do
Come from inside his heart
How many years must I live like this?
Unable to trust my self.

Tick tock tick tock
Round about we go
Memories of happy times
Playing in the snow.

The Heat of the fire dances within
And shines as a radiant light
Beautiful and mysterious
As it burns everything in its sight.

I cannot see the sun for fear
Disgust is at my door
But it is not on the outside
And I am on the floor.

Tick tock tick tock
We run around the tree
Screaming with laughter as we go
And you are loving me.

There is a time with deep-welled fear
Where dragons rise to burn the fields
And children starve in their own souls
And we begin again.

10 thoughts on “How Many Times?

  1. Soulwalker, how hauntingly and cleverly you have captured and joined through the centuries the play between elder and youngster in more primitive times and settings and through today. How this will haunt us playing with our grandchildren and nieces and nephews this Christmas!

  2. I don’t know if this was your intent, but your poem reminds me of the pain from the past,… how hard it is to separate that with who we really are in the ever-present now….. how hard it is sometimes to transcend, transmute. You’ve written this beautifully!

    1. You know I was just having a conversation with an acquaintance of mine on the topic of the role of authorial intention in interpretation. It has been on my mind a lot lately. I honestly do not feel settled on the issue yet. I will have to continue to give it more thought. Let me know if you have any thoughts.

What are you thinking?

