An Ear to Hear I Boldly Seek

Tell me about repentance Lord–
The shock, the grave, the awesome death
Talk to me about the turning–
The the pain, the path, the happy rest.

Teach me about that better way–
The one with life and hope
Show me how I might not stray–
And gain purchase on the rocky slope.

Let me in that sacred door–
Where holy men have gone before
Make me as thine own dear son–
Righteous as the Holy One.

Give me turning from my pain–
The darkest hour sweetly calls
Raise me up to life again–
With vict’ry over soaring walls.

18 thoughts on “An Ear to Hear I Boldly Seek

  1. Soulwalker, I can honestly say I have NEVER read a more effective poem in describing the deepest yearnings of our souls to be like HIM, to be intimately WITH HIM! Therefore, I really, really most humbly plead with you to visit my latest post and give me your opinion, okay? I will be in your debt!

    1. And may I suggest (without any intention of despising your compliments) you read again (or perhaps for the first time) John Donne’s poem (written in the seventeenth century):

      “A Hymn to Christ, at the author’s last going into Germany.”

  2. “Jesus answered them, ‘Those who are well have no need of a physician, but those who are sick. I have not come to call the righteous but sinners to repentance'” (Luke 5:31-32). In my life I’ve found that often times the greatest impediment to my repentance is that I don’t realize I’m sick.

    Grace and peace to you,
    Eric

What are you thinking?

