Words Beyond Their Meaning

“‘Ghost Dog’ is my favourite movie.”
“Wow.”
I just didn’t know what to say
I didn’t know what to do
I didn’t even know if it was real
I had been fairly certain that I was the only one who even saw the movie
more than once.

And yet here I was
Darkly dreaming down the
drain
My hopes a tattered memory
Flapping loudly in the wind
Incessant
Piercing
Wild.

“I always liked pigeons.”
That was all
I could think
to say
at that very moment.
“Yeah, me too.”
That was the response.

So I opened up the door
To that glimmer long since lost
Forgotten in the timeless joy
Of reality I couldn’t see
Here and now I let it in
And dared
to breathe.

5 thoughts on “Words Beyond Their Meaning

What are you thinking?

