On Heaven

They tell me that the streets are gold
But I don’t care I don’t care
I just want to see Jesus there.

They tell me that the gates have pearls
But I don’t care I just don’t care
I just want to see Jesus there.

They tell me that the city gleams
But I don’t care I don’t care
I just want to see my Jesus there.

They tell me that your friends are there
But I don’t know and I don’t care
I just want to see my Jesus there.

They tell me that the angels sing
But I don’t care I just don’t care
I want to see my Jesus there.

They tell me that the Father speaks
And I am filled with shaking fear
Please my God let me see this thing:

Please let me see my Jesus here.

5 thoughts on “On Heaven

  1. Oh WOW–this would make a great song. Except–and I’m sure you know I have to say this–there’s no need for “shaking fear” when God speaks! I’m telling you true–He’s not scary, just a big loving Father. So I’m going to sing “the song” without the last verse!! (Caddo of undeniable faith and irrepressible spirit)

    1. You do not have to say that. The deity that made the world, created life, kills people on record in His own book, commands His own people to kill other people, dethrones kings and raises paupers, has promised to return with a sword and judge the whole world granting eternal damnation to the disobedient… He is the definition of scary. And He is definitely not “just a big loving Father.”

      Now I understand you most likely do not think of most of your blog comments as important theological and philosophical statements. And why should you? However, you are “here” with me in this space. The Lord is a loving father. The Lord is merciful. The Lord is gracious. And if you have not shook in fear over your own sin in His presence you will likely miss a very significant thing or two about His mercy, about His love, about His grace, about the times He is gentle with you, about His being a father to His people. I would not want you to miss any of that.

      “The fear of the LORD is the beginning of wisdom: and the knowledge of the holy is understanding.” -Proverbs 9:10 (KJV)

      We all want to know. Some of us want to know more than others for we are all different parts of the body. And I (perhaps more than many) know that truth without love is not something to seek after. I am, however, that part of the body that wants to know. It matters greatly to me and informs my expressions of love. I would not for a second want everyone else to be like me in this– that would make for an awkward body indeed. Fear is not always a bad thing. It is a very healthy, good, and appropriate response to many situations. Being afraid, and shaking in fear does not equate to living in fear or believing that fear is all there is. It is only one emotion (and emotions are amoral by nature) in a range of human experience. There is a time for everything under the sun.

      “Servants, be obedient to them that are your masters according to the flesh, with fear and trembling, in singleness of your heart, as unto Christ;” -Ephesians 6:5 (KJV)

      This is a thing to be meditated upon (if it helps, feel free to use another translation in any language of your choosing). “As unto Christ…” is a powerful phrase. A lot of cultures have a lot of differences. Some cultures place a value on respect; others less so…
      It seems to me that fear and trembling is an interesting component of respect. You would respect a bear this way. You would respect a poisonous snake this way. You would respect a shark this way. Most westerners I have spoken with have never had a master in the sense that the above passage in ephesians speaks of. And so animals and people with guns are about the only thing they have ever showed this type of respect for… but that is not nothing and is a very fine starting point for a meditation on the passage.

      In light of who God is (as expressed in the scriptures) we may wonder at the next passage (which I would never want someone to overlook or forget):

      “Let us therefore come boldly unto the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy, and find grace to help in time of need.” -Hebrews 4:16 (KJV)

      It is a boldness indeed considering who you are approaching. This should fill your heart with wonder and gratitude.

      1. Perhaps I spoke badly/awkwardly. It is never my intention to speak as a theologian, but only from my experience. I am quite familiar with the scriptures you mention–and my own relationship with God did indeed begin with FEAR. It took nearly 50 years for me to learn of His great love. I don’t question the validity of the Bible at all–surely Proverbs 9:10 is very important, as are all the words of scripture. My only concern, quite sincerely, is that some of the people who need God most are often frightened away from Him–that, to me, is a huge tragedy. If I err on the side of His Love, rather than Fear–then I shall trust in His Grace to forgive me.

        And if I have caused you offense, I ask your forgiveness as well.

What are you thinking?

