I Want to Dream of Flying

There are so many things
That I wish I could change
About
myself
right
now.

Would that I could just
rest,
in your word.

It is agony
to sin
to stumble
knowing what I know–
who you are.

I just want to rest
And lay my burden down
but my time
has not come–
not yet.

“The whole of creation…”
I wait too
and I groan
like some worn
fat
caterpillar.

I never dream of flying
I’m always on the ground
I cannot make it high enough
to escape my bonds.

How long oh heart
Will you persist?
And world will you wear down
and devil will you fight…

and heart and hope my casualty
that longs for peace to ever be
That longs for love to break the spell
That longs to slip the hounds of hell.

Be still my soul
That cannot rest
Be still my heart
That flees what’s best
Be still my mind
That cannot see
Be still my body
To wait and be.

I never dream of flying
I’m always on the ground
Take me from this tortured plain
Where In my chains I’m bound.

5 thoughts on “I Want to Dream of Flying

  1. “Be still my soul
    That cannot rest
    Be still my heart
    That flees what’s best
    Be still my mind
    That cannot see
    Be still my body
    To wait and be.”

    is it a crime to see beauty in agony? Well wrought and searing.

  2. Writing from the heart is a beautiful healing thing! When we fall we get back up, beat up and buised. Yet His healing powers comes to massage the heart and mind through His spirit, our daily companion! I feel you, over 41 years of writing down my prayers through my lifes ups and downs! I find a certain joy that David had showned in his relationship with God, He always believed that God loved him and would always forgive him! The Lord loves you too! And still i can never separate myself from Him, and still i write spiritual romantic poems to Him from my heart’s praise! Thank for sharing!

What are you thinking?

