In The Beginning

I clutched that bible to my chest
To feel the magic in my bones
Whispers of eternity
That made me who I am.

The leather soft and worn by use
and time and turning every page
The gilded pages shine in light
But it’s the words that burn my soul.

Often I am scared to touch
And going near makes sore afraid
What lies within has holy weight
And I am but a man.

The questions and the answers found
Can be hard to live out here
But still I clutch my leather-bound
Trembling with my holy fear.

4 thoughts on “In The Beginning

  1. Sometimes that’s the best and/or only way to hold onto God–I have my share of times when I just hold my Bible and rock, till He rights my boat again. May He abundantly bless your day.

What are you thinking?

