To the Others on Ending It

Some people just can’t understand suicide
They say all kinds of things
And when they’re done you still feel dead
And now a bit more silent.

Some people can’t relate to suicide
They say they have never had the thought
And then they still keep speaking boldly
After their admission of ignorance.

Some people don’t approve of suicide
And feel the need to say such things
I’m not sure what they think their words
Would do to someone on the brink.

If you have never wanted to die
Then of course you never would have thought
How you might, by your own hand
Make that thought come real.

And I know life is hard-fought precious
And that it brings so many pains
And that its beauty gets obscured
By all the many sins and stains.

Some people know the darkness
And how it feels at night
Some people know the torture
And still they found a light.

38 thoughts on “To the Others on Ending It

  1. Having made 3 unsuccessful (obviously) attempts, I can at least say that I understand all that you wrote. I can also say–though it was a blessed surprise to me, most of all–that I am (belatedly) very grateful God grabbed me back from the abyss. I don’t suppose I’ll ever fathom why He would invest so much of His effort and Love–So now I just accept it with JOY.

  2. Often great poetry comes directly from the experience of great pain. I agree wholeheartedly about your thoughts on suicide having been in the darkness several times myself. It could possibly be the most selfish act but when you are in that place, it is almost impossible to get beyond your own thoughts. Well done my friend both on the poetry and more importantly finding that light. Jen xxxx

    1. Jen,

      I would not ever take credit for finding any light that may have come my way. This is not to say that I did not and do not look for it… but I have been lost and I certainly have never found myself. I pray the darkness leaves you be. It is very true what you say, that for someone contemplating suicide, it seems impossible to get beyond…

      -Soul Walker

  3. This is a powerful and important poem….I cant say I havent been close…not at all….but I’m here…and though Ive been close I can’t think being close and to the very moment are anywhere near each other…that is suffering…that is truly unbearable..Those who find the light, find true life again…I always say just hold on…it will get better .Thanks for putting this out there..

  4. Really…I think you may be in the company, here among the poets, who feel so deeply, how could any of us have not felt pain to the point of thinking about this at moments. Thank God, that so many push past it, write, or whatever they have to do, to find, yes…some sweet light in their black. Thank you so much for the bravery to write this one.

      1. it does..I have heard people go on about this..not understanding it, how selfish, all I could think was, wow, you’ve never gone here in your mind. Must be grand to live in a world so oblivious to the suffering of others. Thanks again for writing it.

  5. Reblogged this on Lyrical Love and commented:
    Just catching up on Soulwalker’s writing…loved this piece, and really, among the writers and artists…I think he finds, so many have wandered this path of thought, and I must say, we are all thankful we all choose living, instead of the alternative. Thanks again Soulwalker, for your bravery on writing this one.

  6. I had a recent time in which my father was in the hospital and he was feeling poorly. A Sister (nun) came in to speak to him and when she left I went to the front desk and told them she was not to come back into his room. She felt, I think, that Dad was ready to die (he wasn’t) and was giving him all kinds of advice on how it would be okay and that he would be with God. There is a time for that type of talk, but I think it needs to be asked for by the patient. She was just making him feel okay about dying. I am fine with someone choosing to die if they are truly done and ready. This wasn’t one of them.
    Scott

  7. Reblogged this on Writing & Random Thoughts and commented:
    This poem got me thinking how to explain the blackness of depression to someone who has never experienced it. Picture the most tedious and unpleasant task you might ever have to do. Cleaning toilets? Picking trash? Burying dead animals? Now imagine that’s your job eight hours a day. Next, picture television, movies, music, video games, all forms of entertainment gone from your life. And all recreation too. You do nothing but stay in a bare unpainted concrete room. No other form of pleasure is possible either. The only food you get is the most bland imaginable. Maybe oatmeal with no salt, sugar or flavouring, three meals a
    day every day. Oh, and every night your sleep is disturbed, so you feel tired every day. And you’re always feeling aches and pains all over your body. And something terrible has happened in your life. Perhaps someone very close to you has died or has cut off all contact with you. Finally, you see no way out of this miserable existence, no other future, just more of the same. Suicide seems the only way out. How would you feel to be stuck in this situation?

  8. True…. my hubby always asks me what I have to be depressed about.. LOL Bless his heart, he just doesn’t understand, but that’s a good thing I guess because that means he does now and never has, experienced it. Love the blog…

What are you thinking?

