I Call Upon the King– the One That Does Not Answer to Me

I love you God
The arrows sink deep.
You are my rock
all these blades are very sharp.
I look to you
my sins have come calling.
You are my Lord
I am poor with money.
I long to hear your voice
my friends are dead.
Your word stands forever
they locked up my brothers.
Your name is holy
I am too numb to be afraid.
Your love is deeper than the sea
my heart fights against you.

Let me be still.

I look to the hills.

Come Lord with your sword
and your fire
and your mighty bow.

Come with your voice
that levels mountains
that and quiets the screaming child with peace.

Come with your strong right hand
that throws down kings
and raises up the poor.

Come Lord
with your violent righteous judgment
that no one can stand.

Come Lord,
and start with me
start in my heart.

14 thoughts on “I Call Upon the King– the One That Does Not Answer to Me

  1. I thought to log in and write, instead I find this humble plea. I thought to put down my thoughts for a friend who is broken, grieving, and looking for answers where there are none, and I find this beautiful piece that you have written. God may not respond with what we hope to be the answer, but he always answers. Thank you for sharing this.

What are you thinking?

