Heavy Chains

It’s not over yet
I will not give up
Though the long sought dawn yet beckons still
And in the waiting we have grown
And fear has bid us run and hide
Our hearts so dead with sin
Though these things be ripe with force
And powers far beyond our own
And we cannot see to the end
Still we yet will rise.

I feel lost and little now
And that may yet be just the thing
But when the scales come fin’lly off
My screams will fill a void
But though they break the church’s glass
I know that they will find their way
And not be all I ever say.

So as I lay here in this death
The old man clinging with old heart
I know that I will rise again
And this will be just but a start.

17 thoughts on “Heavy Chains

      1. Perhaps it’s more opinion than fact, but it seems He awaits our participation in the deepest transformations. Whatever, tho’, your lines here are expertly crafted and food for thought–as always.

What are you thinking?

