In The Snow

I hear the boots harsh out the door
The men have come to take you now
In life and love we find a war
Thrown in a fight we don’t know how.

The cold is not just at my feet
The steel is not just in the gun
Never will I walk a street
So happy under trusting sun.

I do not know the way to find
I do not have the hand to help
The bullets were so very kind
And we the dogs let out a yelp.

In vacant streets I roam a heart
As if it were a stranger’s place
I do not know the way to start
And this is such a lengthy race.

Come dear one and hear me now
Before our time is closed again
Next year in Jerusalem
I will not lie down…

6 thoughts on “In The Snow

What are you thinking?

